In some countries, government are encouraging industries and businesses to move to regional areas outside the big cities Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Government authorities are nowadays motivating many industries and businesses to expand themselves to other regional areas rather than confining to only big cities. This movement from big cities to other small towns has both merits are demerits which will be discussed in the essay below. To embark on, many multinational companies, brand offices, industries and factories are found to be situated only in popular cities as majority of their consumers belong to these urban areas. Opening additional branches at new places outside these prime areas has numerous advantages. This expansion helps the businesses reach more people thereby increasing its consumer market. As more people become aware of these products and services, they tend to purchase them, consequently resulting in the companies benefiting financially due to increase in their sales and profits. Moreover, reaching more areas helps them to get high quality feedback from its users, thereby bringing about modifications in their services to better satisfy the public. Apart from this, setting up new branches in such small regional locations grants employment opportunities to the local public as well. Overall, expansion of businesses to other local towns and suburban areas is a win-win situation for not only the businessmen but also the local citizens. On the opposite side, moving factories and industries to new locations has several demerits such as increased financial pressure on the entrepreneurs for construction of new offices and buying more equipments. Additionally, it necessitates hiring more staff and workers in order to look after the processes at these offices. Apart from this, there is an increased risk of facing financial losses initially as the local people might not buy their products and services immediately. It will take some time for the regional public to accept and trust the newly available products. It will lead the companies to spend a considerable amount of money for marketing. Looking at both sides of the coin, in the short term course, the demerits are more than the merits, nevertheless the benefits of expanding the companies to regional centres definitely outweight the disadvanages. In the long run. To conclude, the governents government must continue to encourage industries to carry out their expansion to other regional areas apart form big cities as it offers many advantages to the people as well as the businesses themselves.