In many schools and universities, girls tend to choose arts subjects (e.g. languages) and boys choose science subjects (e.g. Physics). What do you think are the reasons? Do you think that this tendency should be changed?

There is no denying the fact that both males and females have the right to choose their career paths. This essay will discuss the reasons why girls are inclined to pursue a degree in arts, why boys tend to pursue a degree in science, and the necessity of changing this trend. To begin with, there are many reasons for the tendency to focus on specific majors. Firstly, social stigma plays a major role in this issue. In other words, both genders are affected by social expectations. Generally, the community considers art subjects more suitable for females, such as literature, art history, drawing, and photography. This concept is similarly applied to males, as subjects such as physics and engineering are deemed more appropriate for them. These expectations certainly influence their decisions. In addition, parents sometimes have an influence on their children, especially in critical situations like choosing their majors. For example, if the father is working in the medical field, he may encourage his son or daughter to specialize in the same field. In terms of the necessity to adjust or eliminate this trend, people must adapt to external influences from either the community or their parents. It is also possible to say that important decisions, such as studying a specific major, should be carried out primarily based on personal preferences and advice from experts. As these decisions have consequences, they must be carefully and thoughtfully examined. In conclusion, there are many causes to pursue a specific degree, but both genders must choose in spite of external influences. I would say it is acceptable to do so, as those who decide are comfortable with their choices