It is right that university graduates earn more money than less well-educated people and for this reason some people believe university students should pay the full cost of their education. Others, however argue that higher education should be provide for free by the government. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Education is very important in an individual's life, especially, higher education. However, it's a topic of great debate that whether professional courses should be taught free of cost or universities must charge fee for it because graduates tend to earn higher pay once they get employed after degree. This essay shall try to delve into both the aspects followed by my viewpoint. To begin with, those who think that the college education must be free assert that it will provide an opportunity to the economical weaker section of society to become educated. In fact, because of higher course fee usually, less well-off people are unable to get entry in the professional courses, which are in demand such as Medicine, Engineering etc. To illustrate, according to a survey, in India about 42 per cent of the population is less educated because of costly education. Therefore, governments should direct institutes to educate people without taking any fee from them, in order to, impower them. On the other hand, those who are against this assumption opine that it will put an unnecessary burden on universities and ruler. As a matter of fact, authorities have other important issues to attend such as national security, health, economy and so on, which are crucial for a large section of the society. Hence, people must not gaze towards governments to resolve this conflict of interest because providing free higher education is not an obligation but it is more of a matter of personal choice of an individual. In my viewpoint, both the opinions hold their ground because education is a tool to impower poor people and giving them free professional education could help them to uplift their social status. But, at the same time making provisions for free education could pressurise policy maker and universities, which is not justified. To sum up, undoubtedly the idea of giving free degree education could enable less well-off sections of society to improve their socio-economic status, but at the same time it will put an unnecessary burden on institutions and rulers, therefore, governments should not be asked to do this.