Today family members eat fewer meals together. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

There is no denying the fact that children and their parents seem to be less close nowadays. This essay will discuss the causes of less feasting with family members and the influence of this trend. To begin with, there are many causes for fewer family gatherings at meals. Firstly, nowadays both parents often work full time. In other words, children are left alone or with nannies or babysitters, unlike before, when women stayed at home to cook, clean, and look after children. In addition, children spend more time with friends and surfing the internet. For example, Oxford University published a paper that Kuwaiti kids spent more than 3 hours on iPads, which destroyed their communication ability. In terms of the lack of closeness in family, it can have a negative effect on children, so friends, television and the internet become the main influences on children's behaviour. It is also possible to say that teenagers can be influenced by peer pressure, as some of them join gangs. Moreover, parents should be more involved with their children's upbringing, as they need positive role models. For instance, the legacy of wealth is because businessmen are always eager to contact and teach their sons the principles of economy. In conclusion, there are many reasons for fewer families enjoying meals together. It is also true that it has a bad effect on young people's behaviour. In my opinion, we should raise awareness about the consequences and ask the government to decrease work time.