The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend and offer a solution.

In the last decade an increase of overweight children portion by 20% in western society can be noticed. I believe the reason behind this phenomenon is a variety of fast foods and low prices of unhealthy products. That affect western nations with other health problems, and mental problems. A solution like increasing the prices of unhealthy foods and can help dealing with this problem. The diversity of fast food options is a prime cause of obesity of western population. Some brands like Wendy's, Mcdonalds, Chick-fill-et are reknowned giants that include not only burgers and drinks, but also include breakfast menu. For comparision, in Central Asia same Mcdonalds menu does not have breakfast options. Low prices of sweets in comparison to healthier options is also another reason to the problem. Candies is a great source of easy dopamines due to amount of sugars in it, especcially considering their cheap cost. By buying those sweets to satisfy little ones sweet tooth, parents contribute to their children's drammatic weight rises. As an example, energy bars with nuts like Sneakers are about 3-4 canadian dollars in any grocery stores, while Kind bars vary fom 4 to 6 canadian dollars. Direct effect of this tendency are a higher risk of other phisical health problems to the nation. After gaining fat mass it is usually becomes harder to walk, do basic tasks, or even breath. Apart from that, switching to a healthy realationship with food in the future can be harder for a children who is used to high-calorie diet. Nevertheless, I am convinced that this problem can be easily eliminated by increasing the price of fast foods and preservative foods and lowering the price of organic options. This would create an incentive to the western society and can cause a positive switch in their diet. For example, To conclude, diverse fast food variants and unhealthy sweets cheapness causes a rise in a number of overweight children population in the West side of the globe. Some effects like phisical and mental health problems can be noticed. However, highlighting the affordability of organic food by lowering its price and making unhealthy products expensive, can direct western society to choose health over detrimental overeating.