In some countries, people are choosing to live alone rather than with their families. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In many countries, joint family trend is decreasing now and people are preferring to live alone without their near ones. Modernisation changed the way of living. I think this is a completely negative development and this contains many consequences such as lack of support has major drawback. The second setback is loneliness. This essay will examine these problems with relevant examples. To commence with, this shift has many disadvantages. Firstly, a person will struggle with poor support from family such as physical, mental and financial supports which means he has faced everything on own behalf. Moreover, elder generation has better experience of life and they can guide their newest generation to handle different conflicts to fulfil their personal as well as professional commitments. For example, a recent study of York University found that 93% children who are living with their parents have excellent problem-solving skills and they are capable to handle any situation as compared to those who are living alone. Furthermore, this kind of shift gives rise to loneliness which can cause some serious issues. To begin with, isolation from family can enhance many mental health problems such as depression, anxiety which can increase the chances of heart attack and brain damage, as person is not able to express their feeling about stress in front of anyone. Moreover, this trend increases the separation cases because no one wants to take responsibility of any other. For instance, a latest research found that 65% divorce cases increased in Russia in last decade because of this separate living. To conclude, independent living is a common trend now and this is causing many adverse effects on person's life. The major elements of this option are poor support of family and isolation from society which are causing serious impacts on life.