Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now “one big traffic jam”. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars ?

In recent years, many cities have had a problem related to a traffic jam because of the amount of car accumulation. I think I can suggest a several ideas to the authorities to solve this problem. First, the government should prepare the public transportation route. For example, Indonesia has a decent public transport system, although Monorail trains are probably the better option for short distances and trains over long distances. But these public transportations are limited and most developed only in Java and Bali. With the sufficient of public transportation all over Indonesia, this instantly decreases the number of car owners. Second, another law that may work is to pay higher taxes for car authority. The higher price of the cars linear with the higher tax that people should pay. This initiative may be controversial to the people because they must pay a lot of taxes to have their own automobile. The last idea that I can propose is to increase the possibility of working from anywhere. If the citizens have the opportunity to work from home, they do not have to buy vehicles to go to work, and this can reduce the traffic jams every morning on working days. In conclusion, if governments want to solve this issue, they have to reduce the number of automobile owners by policies that make them choose another way to transport themselves and at the same time, they have to invest in good public transport and routes to support all over the cities.