Some people think that young children should learn how to play a musical instrument at school. Others believe that other subjects, such as mathematics and science, should be prioritised because they will be more useful for children when they grow older. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some would argue that musical instruments should be taught at children ’s schools, while others think that there are more important subjects young children should be learning about because these subjects will be useful in their future lives. Although learning a musical instrument can improve creativity for kids, I would argue that subjects such as physics, technology, history…etc, will be beneficial for their academic lives. On the one hand, learning musical instruments at children ’s schools can boost creativity in a child’s personality. Musical instruments teach children how to express their emotions and feelings in a creative way. Additionally, learning how to play an instrument requires practice and effort which can be very good to learn these skills at an early age. For instance, a piano is a complex instrument and needs time and effort to learn how to use keys which helps children gain qualities like (patience, resilience and consistency) unconsciously. From my point of view, although musical instruments are crucial to building creative thinking and some personal qualities, there are many essential subjects children must learn at school in order to help them in their future lives. Hence, children can learn a musical instrument outside school and take it as a habit to improve their personal qualities. On the other hand, many subjects are more valuable to learn than music which prepares children for their academic lives. When young children are taught technology, science, and history they are more likely to use this knowledge in their further education and give them a strong background about some essential information which assists them to develop their academic skills. For example, technology is a critical skill and when children learn how to do research and use PowerPoint for class presentations from an early age that will be useful to get good marks and academic records. From my perspective, children ’s schools should focus on useful subjects that give children good information about their studies in the future. In conclusion, there are no deniable musical instruments good for children to improve creativity and personal trials, I believe that other subjects are more important because they prepare and help children in their further education.