The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

English become the most important language on the planet by means of the rapid development of tourism. It is argued that there will remain the single language, English, in the world and others will dissipate. The main advantage of it is a enhanced understanding between people, meanwhile the major drawback is a loss and a distortion of many cultures. On the one hand, if english become the only language spoken on the earth, there would be less problems assosiated with misunderstandings between people. As the major factor in most of collisions, this change might significantly increase comprehension between people, especially politicians. The single language would prevent meaning's distortion of translators, and, as a result, it may convey the most accurate meaning. For example, there might be some disguised meanings of a phrase that can not be translated with modern technologies. Using the only one language would resolve these issues. On the other hand, disseappering of other languages may lead to negative outcomes regarding cultures, as language is profound core of any culture. Using a foreign language result in minor changes in customs, which will cause its distortion from original version. Moreover, this change requires too many investments into education, as all citizens of the globe should master English. This may be not cost-effective, and elder population may struggle with learning of it. For example, the people who are over 60 year usually experience a decline of cognitive skills for approximately 70% on average. This means they can learn only up to 10 words in a single day, and it may require them decades to fully master it. In conclusion, shifting to using only the one language may decrease misunderstandings between people, but also have negative consequences, such as distortion of cultures.