Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Music has existed for a long time in human history since the very start of our civilization. Some people suggest that music plays an important role in collaborating people of all ages from various culture backgrounds. This essay will defend this view by arguing that music facilitates the collaboration of people through its story-telling abilities and its contributions to a range of cognitive functions. Firstly, music's unique story-telling manner could break barriers between people from different cultures. Although it is widely believed that lyrics act as the main story-telling medium, research has shown that people tend to interpret musics more and deeper based on their rythms. Therefore, although audiences might not capable of understanding the contents from a completely different culture or those being written in a non-native language, they can still appreciate the up and down melody and even emphasize with the twists-and-turn plots the music depicts. This allows a seemingly abstract, but potentially effective approach in communication between cultures. In addition, listening to music could develop and refine various cognitive functions. Musics are in fact combinations of sound waves. Moreover, these waves differ by instruments that produce them. The assortment of sound waves, when being received by our brains, would further activate nerves that are essentially functioning us cognitively. It has already been discovered that appropriate and regular intake of musical waves could improve concentration, retention and various other skills. Some of the renowned research organisations are also proposing music therapies that could provide people with emotional values and even with the potential of preventing dementia. All these are enriching our cognitive skills, which further provokes more effective communications. Eventually, people would collaborate with each other more effectively. In conclusion, this essay has argued that music is competent in bring people together by mentioning that firstly, stories depicted by rythms align people from different cultures. Secondly, coginition cognitive enhancement provided by music could finally bring about more efficient collaborations.