Nowadays children watch lot of TV and play video games. However, some people think that these activities are not good for a child’s mental health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, children spend lots of time by watching TV and playing video games. Some people believe that these activities have a negative impact on a child’s mental health. While there may be some truth to this opinion, I believe the situation is more complicated and depends on how much time children spend on these activities and the content they are exposed to. On the one hand, playing games or watching television programs can sometimes be a interesting stuff that children are not able to keep themselves away from that. According to the University of Oxford, 70 per cent of young population are addicted to playing video games and something. For example, while kids watching some programs and doing other stuffs, they are facing entertainment contents or wanting to play more and more games. As a result, children are suffering from the lack of exercise and poor posture, which can affect their physical health and can be caused by obesity as well as back pain. On the other hand, it is essential to note that not all TV shows and video games are harmful. Educational programs and games may actually support children ’s development and growth. For instance, certain video games enhance problem-solving skills as well as some TV programs can teach youngers about science, history, or important values. If children, therefore, use these methods and strategies in moderation and choose content wisely, these experiences can be beneficial for their future. In conclusion, while watching TV and playing video games might have negative effects on children ’s mental and physical health if done excessively, it is not inherently harmful that much as long as selecting appropriate content that can support a child’s development. Parents should help children manage their screen time and ensure that they have a balance of activities.