Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now one big traffic jam. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Over the past 30 years, car production and sales has increased so rapidly, most of the people now own a car in many cities around the world. I totally agree that raise in car ownership causes traffic jams in many urban areas. Governments should encourage public transports and provide free passes to public trains. Increasing car taxes can discourage people to buy cars. In many countries, especially Cosmopolitan and Metropolitan cities owning in a car has become a trend. Moreover, some rich people own more than one four-wheeler as a status of symbol. On the other hand, to tackle air pollution and escape from harsh weather few buy cars. so, there is a huge raise in cars on the roads, which causes traffic congestion. For example, cities like Bangalore and Chennai has peak traffic of 30 minutes to 1 hour in early morning and evening. Everyone wants a cosy ride in cars and ultimately it leads to traffic jam. In most of the countries encouraging public rights such as buses or Metro trains can significantly reduce the usage of cars public vehicles not only reduce the commute cost but also save lot of time. In addition to that, increasing car tax and road tax discourages people to buy cars. Even though it is not possible in some countries still helps to decrease the car owning. Some study shows that, after implementation of free public transports in uk, traffic congestion has been reduced by 30 percent. Finally, people should have awareness about traffic jam and use the car when absolutely necessary. In conclusion, owning a car has been risen more rapidly and causing traffic congestion in many cities. Government should take measures such as implementing high taxes on car and giving free public transports can significantly reduce the traffic jam in many urban cities.