Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

This essay attempts to argue that foods and beverages containing excessive sugar might impact health. However, instead of blindly elevating the price of sugary products, a more effective approach would be to reduce the sugar content in the products themselves. Sugar are added to food and drink products in the market these days in order to enhance their tastes and hence attract consumers, but this could bring about a range of diseases. According to some statistics, around 30% of the food items, and more than 75% of the beverages in the market contain additive sugar that surpasses the standard amount of sugar intake for an individual per food consumption. These high- sugar products pose challenges to human bodies which are grappling with digesting and absorbing overdose sugars, leading to not only physical but also mental diseases. The rise in diabetes and high blood pressure diagnosis recently shows a link with this high- sugar market. In addition, research has shown that undue sugar intake could indirectly cause a lower concentration, and even depression. Perhaps the first suggestion that would come out as a solution to the current situation is to increase the price of sugar, but it could not act as a long-term strategy. It is highly likely that lifting up cost for sugar could not expect its end goal -- discouraging the consumption. Consumers who rely heavily on those sugary items might still invest for them, even with much more money. In long-term, not only the health issues could not be addressed, but the economy might also experience a decline due to the drop in consumption level of the customers. A more preferrable tactic could be to limit the sugar content in products by formulating regulations. In conclusion, this essay argued that high-level sugar content could causes various pyhsical and mental health issues. It also suggests that making sugar more expensive could not effectively address the problem, instead, sugar content should be diminished inherently from the products.