Some people think parents should control the behaviour of children from a very young age but others think we should give them more freedom. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Some people assert that parents should monitor children's actions from an early age, whereas others contend that they should be given more freedom of their behaviours. This essay will discuss both perspectives and will conclude with personal viewpoints. First and foremost, one compelling argument supporting the former notion is that offering parental discipline during formative years can help sharp their personalities and academic performances. To clarify, young people tend to analyse whether their actions are good or bad from parents ' reactions during childhood, which is vital to gain a moral behaviour in the later years. Hence, parental supervision can foster their morality. As for academic outcomes, For example, households having a reading habit are more likely to cultivate a reading comprehension among young people. Therefore, parental involvement in their children can enhance not only morality but also academic outcomes. Despite the advantages of parental monitoring, one major advantage about the latter notion is that offering the freedom to children can foster dependency and responsibility, which are essential in today's fast-paced society. To illustrate, children can opt for their movements on their own, meaning that they have to consider the results of their actions and take on the responsibility of their consequences. In other words, they can pursue their ideal paths for their future without physical and mental barriers from parents, leading to unexpected benefits for their growth. For instance, children would explore nature, such as nearby mountains and lakes, which otherwise they have not considered with their parents. As a result, they may gain a deep appreciation for the wildlife through exciting explorations. Hence, the freedom of choices can develop autonomy, responsibility and competencies that parents have not targeted. In conclusion, while parental monitoring is beneficial to develop their educational performances and behaviours, the freedom can cultivate their autonomy and responsibility. In my opinion, to thrive in this society, since people should have collaborative and supportive behaviours to some extent, parents should take care of them regularly.