Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge fo its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

University prepares graduates to be prepared for jobs. While some people argue that graduates should learn anything, I side with those who feel that graduates only be prepared with needed knowledge and skills in workplace. On the one hand, preparing graduates with course that is unrelated with their future job can offer some benefits. Firstly, graduates may learn new things that are outside their interest. By studying more courses, the graduates might have gained new information and skills, which could prepare them better in the future. For example, the graduate that takes biology major may have higher chance to be accepted in a job in a finance sector. On the other hands, i would argue that providing the graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace offers more benefits. Firstly, it enables them to focus on what they are doing. By giving more attention to the lessons that are needed in workplace, the graduates will enchance the skills and knowledge that are still lacking. This prepares the graduates to be more confident with their ability. Secondly, the graduates will have a higher chance to get hired by an employer because they are most likely will do well as they are already have skills and knowledge. In conclusion, while giving graduates access to any knowledge despite the usefulness in workplace might give them more experience, providing the needed knowledge and skills give them opportunity to work better at work.