Some people from poor and rural backgrounds find it difficult to get a university education. Universities have to make it easier, especially for such groups, to get into them. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a widely held view that students with weak financial backing or those from very secluded areas find it quite difficult to continue their higher studies. Therefore it is often advisable that colleges and universities should provide special opportunities for them. I wholeheartedly agree with this ideology to some extent, however, there should be some additional criteria that these students must satisfy. The following paragraphs will discuss this subject. There is a wide range of students who come from poor family backgrounds and hence require some financial support. People coming from rural areas also find some difficulties and challenges in entering universities. It may be due to the low quality of secondary education. Those who belong to the remote areas are taught by junior or novice teachers, who are still gaining some teaching experience. As a result, they could not have the maximum quality education that they are deserved. Also, they face severe problems in competing with other students when they participate in the registration test for entering universities. Furthermore, most of the higher educational institutions are based in large cities rather than rural areas. Therefore, the students are required to leave their houses to enroll in these study programs. Since these rural families mostly have their income from farming, leaving home is a loss of human labour for them which they could not afford. In this way, higher studies become a liability for them. Therefore, it encouraged post-secondary institutions to reserve some seats and provide some subsidies for financially challenged students. On the contrary, I truly believe the instructions should arrange some entrance test and provide some financial aids in order to register or employed skilled pupils. Universities must guarantee that these students have some potential and eagerness to learn new things. Also, they should achieve higher academic scores in their secondary school studies, to ensure that the allocated seats and subsidized funds would not be a waste. To conclude, students from low economic backgrounds or living in rural areas find it difficult to enter post-secondary schools. I wholeheartedly do agree with the ideology to provide some sort of reservation for these groups of deprived students. However, some assessments should be considered for these students, therefore only those who genuinely want to study will be enrolled.