Modern medical science has made it possible to combat many diseases. This is one reason that people are living longer lives now than they did in the past. Discuss the effects this might have on society.

The cutting-edge technologies and methods to deal with the significant number of diseases lead to increased people's general life span. However, this development affected some sides of society such as economics. This essay will discuss two of the most reasonable consequences of this. On the one hand, after the first breakthrough in medicine, humanity was shocked by the increased population in many nations. Hence, this demographic situation continued to develop into overpopulation, which is negative for the level of living because of the escalated need for provisions. In other words, after some decades, human beings may suffer from a dearth of food and other necessary products. For example, in many countries of Africa, overpopulation lead to a leap in poverty and hunger rates, which therefore impacts the general level of living in these nations. However, the growing length of life is beneficial for the economy in developing and developed countries due to improved workload because of an increased number of working individuals. Moreover, this means not only higher exports and manufacturing rates but also wider opportunities to become competitive in the world market. To illustrate, in the 21st century, when India became the first population on earth, its economy suddenly began to rise because of bigger yields in native companies. To conclude, the risk of overpopulation is one of the most expected aftermaths of increased life-span since it may alter into a giant lack of goods. Nevertheless, humans, living longer would positively affect the economics of their current country by providing a better workload.