Some parents believe children’s leisure activities should be always educational, but others think it will cause more pressure on children. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Competitive studying environment has had a demonstrable effect on modern society, especially with regards to children ’s leisure activities. While some people believe that promoting education as a leisure activity for children is the best method to prepare for their academic success and protect them from inappropriate contents, others disagree with this point of view and argue that this method put more pressure on children, leading them to become stressful and depressed. On the one hand, many reasons why forcing children to read academic books during their leisure time should be compulsory. Formost among these is due to improving their grades at school. In today’s society, rising number of children with limited places available in top-tier universities contributes most parents forcing their child to study harder and harder and even during their leisure time to improve their grades at school, increasing chances to get accepted from those competitive high-ranking universities. Therefore, tutoring and practicing more tests during children ’s leisure time are required to prepare to prepare them in this avademic path. Another reason is that encouraging children to stay fous on education during their free time can protect themselves from inappropriate entertainments that are available from various online sources. With technological advancements and social networking, children can easily access to violent video games, making them to imitate this bad behavior in real life. Consequently, encouraging students to read academic books during weekends might lead them to stay away from these distractions. On the other hand, forcing children to only concentrate in school curriculum can cause more pressure on children, which leads to a negative impact on both physical and mental health such as depression. To begin, due to a competitive environment in classroom, every students is forced to study in an intense education, fighting against each other to achieve the highest grade and ranks first in their class; thus, they have no time to relax like playing at a playground and watching cartoon with their parents. As every single minutes of children ’s time is dedicated to study, they might feel stressful and depressed to compete with their best friend. In addition, meeting high standard of parents’ expectation is the main cause of pressure. In conclusion, although the myriad of reasons why tutoring children and forcing them read academic books after their school time is the best way for children ’s leisure activities, these actions might be pointless as it can cause more pressure on them, resulting a negative development on personal growth and contributing to depression symptoms that parents should consider. In my opinion, a balance between education and extracurricular activities is required since grade is not a reflection of achievment but it is a good indicator of their concentration to do something.