Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that it is good for the economy. Discuss the advantage and disadvantages of tourism and give your opinion.

Over the course of the recent decades, the world has seen a rapid rise in holidaymaking industry. Although some people claim that this ever-growing tendency creates some challenges around the globe, it is clear that tourism has brought about numerous advantages for both the individuals and the environment. Admittedly, thanks to advancements in technology, more and more people have the opportunity to visit other parts of the world. Therefore, substantial amounts of money ae spent on these excursions, directly contributing to the economy of popular holiday destinations. For instance, it was reported by BBC that Thailand generates more than 60% of its annual education budget from tourism revenue and related taxes. Furthermore, tourism fosters cross-cultural understanding and appreciation by exposing visitors to diverse perspectives. In other words, some indigenous languages and cultures can be preserved or even promoted globally due to their attention-grabbing features and attributes. Conversely, those who emphasize on negative side effects of tourism argue that level of pollution has increased significantly. Not only has air quality deteriorated, but also the number of patients suffering from respiratory diseases has soared all around the world. In addition, it is argued that the crime rate is often higher at touristic sites. Indeed, some destinations may experience an increase in illegal activities such as drug trafficking and robbery. Therefore, if local authorities fail to enact proper regulations and security measures, tourism destinations might face severe issues. In summary, although there are both negative and positive impacts of tourism on societies, I firmly believe that the advantages of tourism such as financial contributions and culture preservation far outweigh the disadvantages, and with proper management practices can be a valuable asset to nations worldwide.