In many countries, plastic shopping bags are the main type of rubbish. They cause water and land pollution, so they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, in many nations, the usage of plastic shopping bags has been surged, which causes pollution of water and land in the environment. I totally agree with this statement and will explain my viewpoints and related examples in the following essay. To begin with, there are several reasons that can be considered to support that plastic bags are the major source that contaminates the land and water. First and foremost, plastic bags take a longer time to decompose. As a result, it become a landfill for centuries, which can be dangerous for either earth’s surface or water. For instance, a study by the University of Waterloo mentioned that it takes 200 years for plastic to dilute properly. Additionally, nowadays, actions of dumping plastic in the water have been increased, which can pollute the clean water. Therefore, aquatic animals as well as individuals in society are suffering from issues related to polluted water. For example, large organizations are throwing lots of plastic waste in the ocean or river, which directly affects the environment and ecosystem. Apart from that, plastic bags can also block sewage lines, which can cause blockage of drainage systems and flooding in the urban areas. To summarize, plastic is extremely harmful for everyone in this living world. As its impacts are very dangerous to the land and water in many ways. As a consequence, individuals have to ignore the use of plastic bags or minimize the use for their own betterment. At the very least, the government should also create some rules and regulations to save our environment from the risk of plastic bags.