Some people use social media to keep in touch with other people and new events. Do you think advantages of this technology outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no denying the fact that advanced technology has a significant role in the contemporary world. While it is commonly held belief that social media makes connections more easily by providing applications and platforms to overcome border limitations, there is also an argument that communication technology affects human life negatively. This essay will discuss the merits and the demerits of the technology and express my opinion. On the one hand, technology reduces the time and distance factors of conventional communication by providing the ability for instant communication within a few seconds with individuals overseas through video calls, messages,and voice notes. In addition, social media is considered as a window to each other lives by encouraging people to share their life updates utilizing stories or posts. Moreover, their platform now become an area for digital marketing and personal branding for many individuals and business owners by facilities many tools such as social media advertising,influencer marketing, and sponsored content. On the other hand, although social media have various benefits,as everything it has side effects on individuals ' lives. For instance, recent statistics found a noticeable increase in the number of people suffer from psychological and mental health whereas these platforms may cause addiction, and distraction. Furthermore, the humans may become a victim to unrealistic and comparison content thus, will reducing the sense of fulfilment in their lives. In conclusion, there is no easy answer to this question.On balance, however, I tend to believe that people need to be aware of the bad effects of these platforms. Nevertheless, social media carry a huge benefit to the users whether they are individuals or companies.