Some people think that the main factor influencing a child’s development these days are things such as tv, friends and music. Others believe that the family still remains more important. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In current society, there are many factors that influence child development. Some people argue that the primary factors are TV, friends, and music, while others believe that family is the most important factor. From my point of view, I strongly believe that the influence of family outweighs others. On one hand, many things such as TV and friends have impacts on child development. There are multiple educational shows on TV and toddlers can learn how to speak and behave by watching those. For example, statistics by Tokyo University indicates that over 80% of kids under 5 years learned new phrases from cartoons. Furthermore, interactions with friends significantly contribute to the development of communication skills and problem-solving skills. On the other hand, it is imperative to recognize the role of family. Children spend a great amount of time with their parents and siblings compared with time spending for other activities, and learn good attitude, social norms, and kindness by looking at them. For example, according to a study conducted by the Ministry of Health in Japan, more than 80% of children who show respects to others answered that they learned to be polite to others from their parents. Furthermore, a family tie is always stronger than other relationships. When kids misbehave, their classmates do not always stop them, but their parents have a responsibility to point out and teach them how to deal with unfavourable situations. Consequently, family members have the biggest influence to children. To sum up, family not only spends the most time with children, but also has a responsibility to teach appropriate behaviors. While there are many influential factors such as TV and friends in contemporary life, the importance of family in child development is paramount.