In some countries, there is a debate over whether criminals should be punished severely or rehabilitated. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an ongoing interest in crime consequencies for criminals. In many countries, they argue whether perpetrators should be placed on severe punishment or on rehabilitation. I believe that they should be rehabilitated while being punished severely. I will extensively analyze both sides of the conversation, and delineate my opinion, supported with relevant examples. To begin, the main reason why I believe it is ideal to rehabilitate criminals is because it reduces the rate of recidivism in the society. To buttress this, most lawbreakers have impaired judgements and addictions, they are victims of marginalization and social inequality. They have inclination of offending again, even after severe punishments. Rehabilitation provides a platform for physical and mental treatments of this population, facilitating change in their values. For example, some adolescents who committed vandalism and theft under the influence of illicit drugs were sent to rehabilitation centers for treatment. They resumed their normal life activities after eighteen months of expert suppoft. There has been no report of repeated crimes from them. This clearly, was effective. However, although they tend to re-offend, criminals should be severely punished as it helps combat crime in the country. That is, when crime is committed. There should be timely justice or strict and clear consequences to it. Serious punishment of offenders serves as deterrent to others, resulting to reduced crime rate. For instance, previously conducted study has shown that societies with strict and trusted law enforcement and goverment institutions have successfully decreased crime. Therefore, promoting social stability and cohesion. In conclusion, with the rise in the cases of repeated crime from ex-convicts, I propose an integration of rehabilitation programs to tackle crime recurrence, with severe punishments of these lawbreakers to dissuade crimes.