In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In the contemporary world, industrialization and globalisation lead people to migrate to metropolitan cities from small cities. This behaviour profoundly contributes to the lack of employees in many sectors, whereas it reduces the demand of rural regions and discourages companies from investing in these areas. In my opinion, this attitude causes a huge devastation and appears a certain economic imbalance among poor cities, so it stands out as a negative development. On the one hand, the migration from rural areas to urban areas can compensate the open job positions in big cities, since, especially in recent decade, a lot of job facilities appeared in cosmopolitan regions with the investment of big caps. One perk of this approach is that the companies can easily find more employees, thus that enables them to grow more than usual. For instance, in 2017, Istanbul was selected as the most invested city across Europe, in addition, statistics emerged that occupation opening rates in Istanbul surged to 32%. That convince people to move to Istanbul, and companies soared their profit more than ever. However, migration causes a huge detrimental reduction of potential investors to invest other regions. Furthermore, businessmen do not think of morals and ethics, they focus on the revenue. While the population of some regions reduce, these regions become less attractive for money holders. As a result, the regions become stagnant and never improve in terms of industry. A clear example of this can be seen in Gaziantep, which is one of the smallest cities in Turkey, most citizens moved to big cities, such as Ankara and Istanbul. Therefore, local employment rates decreased and the annual investment budget diminished to the ground. In conclusion, while the migration can fill the labour shortage in big cities, it can induce small cities even worse.