The range and quality of food that we can buy has changed because of the technological and scientific advances some people believe that this change as an improvement while others believe that it is harmful. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Over the course of the last decades, development of technology has changed human’s lives beyond recognition, even the variety and quality of food has transformed. Although it seems that this trend offers numerous benefits, like accessibility to tastier dishes, some people claim this change imposes drastic threats on both our bodies and our environment. Admittedly, scientific advancements in agriculture and transportation, play a significant role in our eating habits. First of all, thanks to hi-tech devices and fast aircrafts, an array of products ranging from meat to rice, is transferred around the world. Therefore, people in different locations have the opportunity to eat the items that are not produced in their own region. For instance, since the climate of Canada is not suitable for growing fruits such as banana and fig, these kinds of fruits are often imported from warmer countries like Brazil and Cuba. In addition, taste and durability of foods has improved as a result of crucial progress in genetic engineering, which modifies the plants genes so as to yield a better crop. Nevertheless, despite all the advantages of changes in edibles, some individuals advocate that the impacts of GM food are yet to be seen. In other words, they claim the high amount of utilized chemicals, such as fertilizers and pesticides, spells trouble in the near future. Moreover, there is a widespread belief that the significance of traditional cuisines of indigenous cultures has been undermined, as the majority of young adults prefer to eat fast food. It was illustrated in a recent report from BBC news that over 50% of the English teenagers are more satisfied with imported canned food because it is simply more convenient to eat. In summary, owing to improvements in science and technology, the variety and quality of food has enhanced. While there are some people who stress the drawbacks of this trend, such as demise of cultures or hazardous farming methods, I highly support the opposite idea that confirms the benefits of this diversity are far more important.