Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

The education plan can include added subjects which are not a required part of speciality. Some students do not mind learning optional subjects in addition to a main program so that it can extend their erudition, while the others would like to focus on only subjects which concern their chosen profession. This essay will discuss both sides of the topic and give my personal opinion why universities should give a choice to students. Historically, people who have the higher education were intelligent men or women from rich families having extended knowledge in history, philosophy, literature and so on. It allowed them to understand and express their thoughts clearly. Nowadays, a tradition of studying philosophy in any profession remains in major universities. Moreover, a Doctor Philosophy degree refers to this heritage. On the other hand, it takes more time and sometimes money to study optional subjects than studying only the main program. Moreover, most students learned such disciplines in their previous education as well. For instance, literature at the middle school. So this practice can be considered as less useful than focusing only on topics concerning their chosen profession, especially in case then students have to pay for it. In conclusion, extending the main education program by optional subjects allows students to improve their soft skills, but at the same time it requires more time and financial spending. In my opinion, the academic syllabus should be flexible enough so that it can allow each student to choose or give up additional subjects.