Reward plays a vital role as a motivation to encourage students to try hard and do their best. While many people contemplate that those having the highest academic scores should be rewarded, I believe that learners who improve the most should receive the gifts to inspire them to put more efforts in the future

Reward plays a vital role as a motivation to encourage students to try hard and do their best. While many people contemplate that those having the highest academic scores should be rewarded, I believe that learners who improve the most should receive the gifts to inspire them to put more efforts in the future. On the one hand, giving awards to the top students is beneficial in some ways. Firstly, it makes people try harder to perform the best. Excellent students will put more efforts into keeping their high positions and other ones will learn harder to get closer to the top. It creates a competitive environment in the whole school because everyone desires prizes. Moreover, this approach helps schools find out outstanding pupils in order to nurture their academic abilities more. They can be trained at the extra classes to represent schools joining national and international competitions. On the other hand, I agree with those who argue that complimenting pupils making improvements in their studies is a more optimal choice. Firstly, being the top student is not easy because not all of them have the talent to learn well. Therefore, the efforts of them to become better than the version of themselves yesterday are worth the recognition. It gives them the motivation to keep moving forward and not give up. Moreover, this approach promotes the idea that the highest purpose of studying is to gain knowledge not to compete with each other and to achieve high scores. Grades cannot make your life be better in the future but knowledge and experience can. In conclusion, though rewarding pupils with the best academic performance is a good option to some extent, it seems to me that giving prizes to improving ones can help gain a better result.