Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Visiting places that are considered to be difficult to live in has become more popular recently. I personally believe that this activity can be both enjoyable and life-threatening for the visitors. There are some clear advantages that people can get from this kind of tourism. Firstly, they can get a new experience of going to a place that are completely different from the place they live in. In other words, people can get out of their comfort zone of living in a city and try new extreme activities to broaden their horizons. In addition, because people can see places that they usually see only on the internet, they will appreciate these places more. As a result, they might become more aware of the beauty of nature and they might help spread awareness to protect the nature. For example, visitors to the antarctica can help spread photos to make other people realize that the ice caps are actually melting and something needs to be done. However, this activity is undeniably risky at the same time. This means that a trip to a dangerous place could become a disaster if something goes wrong in the process. The difficult environment, too cold or too hot, might make people get sick during the trip, and it would be difficult to send a rescue mission when something like this happens. In other words, evacuation might take time since access to these places is difficult. A journey to the Himalayan mountains is a good example. In the past, some climbers passed away because the rescue team could not get to them on time due to the harsh weather and blizzards in that place. In conclusion, although there are some positive things that tourists can get, I think that at the same time, the danger cannot be ignored. People may get some precious travelling experience when they do this. However, they might also die if something unexpected happens in a place that is difficult to reach.