An increasing number of children are overweight which could result many problems when they grow older both in terms of their health and health care costs. Why do you think so many children are overweight? What could be done to solve this problem?

Obesity is a new-age disorder. Nowadays, many children suffer from being overweight, which inevitablely will affect their health and quality of life, both on short and long-term levels. This essay will discuss the causes of obesity for young people and suggest possible solutions. Without a doubt, there are multiple causes that contribute to obesity in children. These causes can be classified into modifiable and non-modifiable. Genetics is the only non-modifiable cause, and it can be triggered by several environmental factors. First, eating unhealthy food. In fact, the introduction of processed, greasy, unhealthy food at a young age can affect children ’s natural metabolism, making them prone to obesity. Another reason is the recent advanced technology that encourages sedentary lifestyle. For instance, children who spend their time playing video games instead of physical activities tend to be overweight. Finally, having unattentive parents. Generally, having well-educated parents who monitor their children ’s diet and activity is vital for their weight and overall health. Undoubtedly, obesity in children can be prevented by several ways. One, monitoring the child’s diet. It is important to ensure the quality of what a child drinks and eats. Second, the introduction of physical activity. This can be achieved by promoting school competitive activities, such as football or swimming. Last but not least, educating the public about the devastating effect obesity has on the human body. In conclusion, obesity is a serious condition for children. It results from several factors, most of which can be prevented. For this purpose, several ways are available to promote healthy weight in younger adults.