Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

There is an ongoing interest in leisure activities for children. Most parents purchase plethora of toys for their children. I will thoroughly analyze the benefits and the drawbacks of this action on a child, in this essay, supported with relevant examples. To begin, one crucial advantage of children having many toys is that it improves their manual dexterity. This means their ability to carryout some movements with precision and skills. When youngsters have many toys like vehicles and crafts, they manipulate them with their hands, then small muscles of the hands and fingers develop overtime. This helps them perform precise actions like grasping, twisting and pinching, which they acquire eariler compared to other pupils who do not have variety of toys. The latter often experience delay in milestones. For instance, previously conducted surveys in schools in the southeastern part of Nigeria showed a wide variation in development age of fine motor coordination among pupils of same age grade. The less-privileged ones with little or no plaything grasped and twisted hands at later age, whereas children who had large number of it at their disposal, developed normally. However, it is imperative to consider the downsides of teenagers having more than enough playthings. One most compelling is that they depend only on it for entertainment. To buttress this, when a child has more than a required number of toys, such as musical, sports, beach and sand toys etc; more often than not, they feel there is no need to engage in outdoor activities like swimming, soccer, running etc. These are essential for their physical development and well-being. For example, a child who has sport toys as one of his collections might feel that using it leisurely in his room is the same as playing outside, as long as, he gets same exhilarating feeling. Having large diverse toys evidently hinders this child. In conclusion, with parents providing their youngsters with a lot of playthings, there are associated pros and cons. These include fostering fine motor coordination, and preferring only toys for fun respectively.