Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Some people argue that if price of petrol is increased then traffic and pollution will be reduced. I diagree agree with the given statement and my reasons will be explained below with some other effective solutions to these two problems. There are many reasons why people feel that increasing price of fuel will minimize all the problems. Firstly, if prices are increased then it will be very difficult for middle class men to afford petrol, it would not have any effect on rich individuals. Many people cannot take public transport as it takes a lot of time. Moreover, it will be very difficult for industries to operate as petrol is used everywhere. This will reduce the production of goods and services. Hence, rise in price of petrol is not the best way to control pollution and traffic. There are many solutions but they are not easy. To begin with, government can improve the public transport system by making it more affordable and quick so that more people are encouraged to use it. This will help reduce the traffic congestion on roads. They can also built eco-friendly cars which use CNG and electricity which do not cause much pollution. Furthermore, usage of petrol should be limited by industries and try using its alternatives which do not cause harm to the environment. To conclude, although increasing price of petrol is not the ideal solution yet there are many different ways we can tackle the problem of traffic and pollution.