In many countries people have to pay for medical care, but some think that it should be a free service provided by the government. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In recent years, the ability of individuals to afford and access healthcare services has become essential. However, many nations oblige their residents to purchase medical services for a fee, therefore, some advocate for a medical service provided by the legislative of the country. Although free services might attract unnecessary healthcare use, I strongly agree that it should be made free, because, some people live in abject poverty and cannot afford to pay for medical treatment, and also, free medical care would motivate people to participate in frequent check-ups, which can potentially decrease the burden of some diseases on the national economy. This essay will explore these reasons with some insight examples. To begin with, although money from medical treatments is often needed in order to develop better healthcare facilities, It is crucial to consider the vulnerable and poor population. In most developing countries, the majority of citizens cannot afford three square meals, talk more of medical needs. A clear example of such is Nigeria. Nigerian National Demographic data shows that more than 50 per cent of the country's population live in extreme poverty, placing them in financial constraints, which consequently can limit their affordability to treat illness. Therefore, free medical services can offer them the opportunity to access live a healthy life at no cost. Moreover, governments can use revenues generated through taxation from other sectors, in other to develop a healthcare -free policy for its citizens. Because this will encourage more people to go for frequent medical check-ups. Regular medical check-up can often decrease the deterioration of some diseases, such as HIV and cancers, these diseases pose a threat to public health and also to national development, because, they can reduce the productivity of the affected individual which may lead to the workforce shortage in the area of expertise of the sick person. As a result, the economy of the country suffers, due to a lack of tax from the particular employee. In conclusion, despite to ability of free healthcare services to attract misusage, i firmly believe that it should be rendered at no cost, due to financial constraints and also the ability to encourage usage. Nevertheless, it is important to strike a balance between these factors.