many elderly people are no long looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Old pensioners no longer taken care of by their family members, instead, they are sent to geriatric care homes. While nursing homes are more advanced in taking care of an elderly individual, there are certain negative points of this action. Both sides will be discussed in this essay. On one hand, elderly people benefit from constant supervision by professional healthcare givers in nursing home, which significantly reduces the risk of injuries. This is particularly important for those with limited mobility or certain health issues such as osteoporosis which is most common issue among old people. For instance, if an elderly person with balance problems lives alone, they might fall and hurt themselves. However, staff can prevent falls by offering assitance and providing safer envorenment environments in care homes. On other hand, long-term care facilities may increase the risk of certain conditions like Alzheimer's or dementia due to limited cognitive stimulation. Despite the fact of the highly structured environment, there may not provide old people with the necessary mental challenges to stimulate particular area of the brain. That is to say, a resident in a nursing home might not receive enough mental or physical exercise, which could lead to decline in cognitive functions over time. Altough some facilities are working to integrate more engaging activities,the risk remains for those who do not receive specialized care for dementia. In conclusion, the elder individuals are not looked after any more by their own family members. Even though this action has some benefits in their lifetime, there are certain risks for them.