Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety.

Traffic related accidents have risen dramatically during recent decades. Some individuals believe that more strict punishments should be considered for driving crimes, in order to fix these issues. This is while other groups of people, with whom I side, claim that other methods such as education are the key. To begin with, people on the first side of the argument, state that if more restrictive laws were introduced, crime rates would drop, because drivers are then forced to obey the rules in order to avoid the punishments. They often suggest heavy fines and long prison sentences for achieving this goal, for example. In detail, by utilizing such regulations, drivers will be extra careful as a result of being afraid of the outcomes of his/her behaviour. The second group, on the other hand, does not consider the last option to be as efficient, when compared to other preventive solutions. For instance, utilizing advanced technology to monitor traffic could potentially decrease crime rates, by giving drivers the impression that they are being watched. Furthermore, an other method which is often mentioned and I also believe to be the best, is education. Education, in contrast, is able to inform the society about the drawbacks of breaking the rules, using examples of road incidents to give them a clearer image of the situation, especially in schools. To conclude what was said earlier, there is an ongoing debate on wether strict laws are the key to solve road issues, or other regulations should be made in favour of this matter. In my opinion, educating the individuals could play a bigger role in this field.