In most cities and towns, the high volumes of road traffic become a problem. What are the causes of that and what actions could be taken to solve the problem?

It is true that with the population increasing, traffic problems become a severe issue in many nations. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this trend, societies can take steps to mitigate this potential problem. An array of causes may lead to why car accidents and traffic jams happen more frequently. To begin with, with the increase of populations, most individuals need to go to work or school; therefore, the demands of transportation in certain times are thoroughly inclined. For instance, at 7:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., when there are the most road traffic times, incidents and delays might be regular. Secondly, some people are not really disciplined, they might go over the speed limit or run the red light, due to car accidents. That is, illegal behaviors lead to some traffic problems in cities and towns. Several solutions to the phenomenon of crowded road traffic can also be taken by governments to solve the issue. Firstly, authorities ought to complete the policy of traffic, such as fines, to deter the citizens from doing any illegal acts. For example, people who run the red light in Taiwan, should pay NT$ 600 fines to the ministry of transportation. A second measure would be for governments to encourage populations to take public transportations like MRT, bus, and so on. In other words, traffic situations may be mitigated when people tend to take public transports to commute. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, various measures can be taken to address the problems that are certain to arise as the high amounts of road traffic.