In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The food industry has transformed over the last decades and numerous types of meals which are produced in the different counties are available in the local stores across the world. I believe that the advantages of this development outweigh the drawbacks. To begin with, the availability of food from other countries ' foods all over the world can cause inevitable consequences to the economy of importer countries. Increase in importing international meals can deteriorate the conditions of the local food industry. For instance,  the rising Iranian interest in consuming Italian foods has increased the unemployment rate in the food- based businesses and more than 100,000 Iranian workers have been made redundant by the food production corporations. Therefore, this development may pose dramatic negative impacts on both governments and local people. On the other hand, there is broad consensus that this development can bring several significant benefits. One of the primary advantages of this trend is that it can pave the way for the exporter nations to enhance their income and boost their economic growth. Increasing the source of income associated with exporting food products helps these countries to develop their infrastructures and citizens living standards. Another major benefit is that even people who are living in remote or deprived areas like Africa and South Asia are able to consume the various international foods. As a result, this development can accommodate their needs properly and increase satisfaction rate in these remote areas. Last but not least, the increasing prevalence of consuming other nations' cuisines can bridge the gap between the countries, enabling more and closer communication among people and authorities. In conclusion, although it is said that this progress in the global food industry may cause severe consequences to the importer nation's economy, I believe that the benefits of this development are more valuable than its disadvantages.