Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

In the world, there is a growing number of diseases which are connected to consuming high-level sugar goods. Public health departments are looking for a solution for this problem and one of the decisions could be the setting the sugar tax. It is expected that people begin to buy fewer sugar products due to the high price, but in fact, it will encourage them to seek no less harmful alternatives. This essay will discuss why the growing price of undesirable products will not decrease the sickness rate in society. The sugar tax is an artificial increasing cost of sugary products by a government. The main idea is that customers are supposed to choose more healty options because of monetary benefits and as a result, it will reduce unhealthy diets in the population. This method is similar to the tobacco tax. Some countries, for example Poland, have allowed such practice and achieved a reduction of consuming 20% less. The main issue of sugar tax is the fact that although people may spend less money on high sugar content, they will find other unhealthy options such as high levels of fatty food or too salty goods. For instance, although people began spending less on sugary drinks after accepting new rules in some regions of the US, beer sales have increased. The reasons why people buy harmful food is not only due to the price, but for pleasure. To eat some candy is the easiest way to reduce stress and feel happy. So government should offer more healthy alternatives, instead of banning harmful ones. In conclusion, although the sugar tax seems like a beneficial option, however, it does not solve the problem of unhealthy diets in the society. In my opinion, it will be more productive to spend government's money on the improvement of mental care and sports services so that it can reduce the mortality of citizens.