Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed , rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantage of being self- employed?

There are split opinions regarding whether people should pursue self-employment instead of working for a company or small firm. However, both have their pros and cons. Therefore, before commenting on my decisi on both the opinions would be discussed. Examining the former opinion, the primary argument the supporters would put forward is that being an employee under an employer has its own perks. The first and foremost thing is that there is a certainty that an individual will get paid monthly or bi-weekly, with that they can plan to fulfill their future expectation. In addition, most of the firms provide a bunch of benefits to their associate such as physiotherapy, vision care, gym membership, and other health care benefits for the family members as well. On the other hand, the latter view suggests that being self-employed has numerous drawbacks. To begin with, as any startup has no certainty to return of investment in this competitive generation, and also need patience, experience and hard work to market an individual product. Moreover, a recent study suggests that seventy percent of the startups fail within a few months due to lack of finance and motivation. To conclude the give my opinion, I would say that for a person who has a wealthy background and experience in their field, they should go for a own business, but the rest of the people should work under an employer could be the best appropriate way.