In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Traffic jams have become one of the serious problems in the world such as environmental damage and congestion. Therefore, authorities believe private vehicle owners should be weighed with a heavy tax to then improve the communal transport. This essay will discuss the benefits and the drawbacks. There are a lot of benefits by heavily taxing the private vehicle owners, not only that the congestion and pollution would reduce, but also the communal transport that would improve. Firstly, due to the heavy tax a lot of residents might have to give up on driving and start to use the public transport, so it will reduce congestion and pollution at the same time. Secondly, improving the facility of public transport means more residents and tourists would prefer to use the shared transport for efficiency. One example of this we can see this method was done by the Singapore authority, cars were heavily taxed and public transport was improved, as a result congestions are least likely and skies are blue. Despite having blue skies, bankruptcy and unemployment are no less important. Car workshops are in risk of bankruptcy since there are less and less cars on the road. This means the employee under the company would get the impact as well. A case of this point, there are car workshops in some parts of Indonesia that had to close down due to the lack of clients and lay off the employees without any notice. To sum up, traffic jams are still a problem for a lot of countries in the world. Having blue skies are great, but the unemployment rate is more important.