Some people think that the increase in the number of obese people should be the responsibility of governments, while others think it should be the responsibility of individuals. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

This essay will discuss whose responsibility is the growth of obese people. There are two mainstream ideas that will be discussed. Some might say it is the responsibility of the government while others believe the responsibility should fall on an individual. In the following paragraphs I will discuss arguments, present examples and will give my opinion. First opinion is that the governments should take accountability for the increase in obese people. This idea stems from the fact that the obesity crisis is caused by bad habits of a community as a whole and can be controlled by taking systematic action. It is the government's responsibility because obese people have higher risks in heart and other medical conditions, which over time will cost the government more than implicating the precautionary measures now. For example, the government could regulate school policies, provide active spaces and healthcare specialists for the obese and promote healthy lifestyles in order to decrease obesity. Others believe that it is up to the individual to control the obesity rise. Obesity is an individual problem as it is each person that has to change their habits and lifestyle. Eating healthy and being more active is an individual choice that a person has to make in order to lose weight. It all comes down to will power and internal motivation. For example, scientific studies suggest that the weight that was lost by the motivation of an individual resulted in more sustainable results, compared to people who lost their weight by outside pressure as they were more likely to regain their weight after some time. In conclusion, there are two ideas of who should take accountability for the rise in obesity, one side believes it is the government who should take the responsibility and the other states that it is an individual decision. The people who believe that the government is responsible support their idea by stating that it is a systematic problem and providing resources will save money for the government in the long run, and the supporters of individualism state that only the choice of individual can result in a healthy and sustainable result. In my opinion the government should take actions to insure that obesity is in control, as individuals can change it is not possible to control the obesity crisis on an individual level.