In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools that provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work?

It is believed that school prepare kids to the adult life and the world of work. But it it actually correct? School cannot provide all the necessary knowledge and make chilldren completely ready to the work life, but it surely can give them a great start and help young students to find their way in life and work. To my mind, the first thing school must to do is to remove bunch of unnecessary subjects from the studying program. Modern kids have too much on their shoulders besides school. Huge amount of different activities, additional courses, tutors and other makes student's life complicated enough. To make their life easier, it would be good idea to decrease the number of subjects and study only necessary ones, that will help students to go to college or university. This will also help students to find their favourite subject that may be helpful in a near future. Only necessary subjects will save more time and energy that will affect on the well-being of students. Besides this, schools must create classes that are focused on a specific subject, so the students will be able to gain as mush knowledge as possible before graduating and moving closer to their dream job. On the other hand, general academic education is important as well. General education may benefit in different ways, for example it can develop critical thinking, improve memory, provide better communication skills etc. But with general academic education the issue remains. In my personal opinon, general education should exists as a side or optional course only. In this way, kids that are interested in different subjects (besides the necessery ones) will be able to attend different courses as well and spend their time as they will. Furthermore, students that are not interersted or lacking in time can focus on the necessery subjects only and improve their grades. In conclusion, I think that both practical skills and general academic education can co-esxist co-sexist, but they both can't be focused equaly at the same time. Students should be able to choose by themselves what they need more and as a result, they will be able to make up their minds regarding further job and career and gain part of the required skills.