In the future, people may no longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using phones. Do you think this will happen one day? Why do you think some people might not be happy to give up using cash? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the present time, technology is advancing at a great pace. Even making payments has become easier with the discovery of credit/debit cards and cell phone apps. It is said that in the future, cash would almost be of no longer used and most of the payments will be made by phone or card instead. This completely looks like a possibility. Having said that, some people might not be happy with the change due problems such as battery reliability of a phone and stolen card which can be threatening for the bank account. Henceforth I've elaborated on this matter. To begin with, apps and cards as payment method makes everything a lot more convenient and accessible. People don't have to worry about carrying appropriate amount of cash with them. For instance, a study conducted at a grocery store showed at 70% population either pays card or by phone. This number is significantly large. Furthermore, it is non-contact which is safer when we look at it from health perspective. On the other hand, some people might not be very pleased with the change for the following reasons. Cellphones cannot be relied upon at all times as they might die at any point. Also, cards if stolen, can pose a great threat to the entire bank account as money can be easily stolen. For instance, one of my friends lost her debit card and 2000$ were stolen from her account. Hence carrying some "emergency cash " can be vey beneficial. In conclusion, it can be said that card and apps does make life easier by making things more convenient and I do believe that in the future we are going to rely on them more than on cash. However they cannot be completely relied upon, which can be the reason behind unhappiness of some people. Having some cash can always saves us when phone and credit/debit cards cannot be used.