Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Today, English has become a key language, often prioritized in schools over local languages. While this focus is understandable given English ’s importance for communication and economic opportunities, the decline of local languages poses a serious threat to cultural diversity and identity. Both English and local languages are important, and a balance must be struck to preserve linguistic and cultural heritage. Learning English is crucial for individuals to succeed in an increasingly interconnected world. It is the primary for international business, education, and diplomacy. Moreover, proficiency in English allows individuals to connect with people from different cultures and benefit from a wealth of knowledge available in the language. Hence, teaching English in schools is essential for equipping students with the skills they need to thrive globally. For example, nowadays one of the most important requirement for studying aboard is to have good English proficiency. Many big companies require employees to be good at English. By being good at English you can have more chance of sucess. However, local languages are equally significant, as they embody a community’s culture, history, and identity. Their extinction leads to the erosion of cultural pride and diversity. Preserving local languages can also boost tourism by offering visitors authentic cultural experiences while fostering a sense of pride among local communities. Governments and schools should include local language education and promote them through festivals, media, and tourism. In conclusion, English is vital for global participation, but preserving local languages is essential for cultural richness. We need to balance both in order to ensure a linguistically diversity in a country.