The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The first British car drove on roads in 1888. Since then the ownership of cars have risen exponentially. Ther are more than 29 million vehicles on British roads nowadays. Other forms of transport may be encouraged to avoid congestion but restrictions on car ownership and use should not be encouraged. Cars are a type of transport, they fit in the category of personal vehicles. Cars offer a lot of freedom as it provides the owner a means to travel anywhere within range. Cars come in different shapes, sizes and capacity so they offer a wide range of variety to satisfy everyone's needs. But they come with a certain drawbacks namely pollution, noise and conjestion of roads. As more and more people are getting attracted to feel this sense of freedom, there are more and more cars on the roads. Nowadays, traffic jams and road accidents are now a commonplace and they are partly due to the increase in the number of cars. Other forms of transport namely public transport like trams and buses are efficient movers of people across distances. Since they move a large number of people they reduce conjestion of roads and are more sustainable than cars. However, the main drawback i that they don't offer much freedom. In conclusion, cars are a better form of transport so it is not wise to introduce restrictions in car ownership and use. Therefore, I strongly disagree since it is the infrastructure that has to be changed and not the people.