Government investment in sports is a waste of money. Government must invest this money in public services instead. To what extent you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that investment in public services is more important than in sports. In my option, investment in both public services and sports must be balanced to attain the well-being of the population. The government should allocate significant amount of money on all public services for various reasons. One major reasons is that most nations have insufficient and underdeveloped healthcare, and education systems due to lack of financial resources, resulting in low quality of life for residents. Philippines, for example, there are some urban cities suffer from lack of government investment in public services, forcing citizens to compromise health, education and transportation. Furthermore, the better the government ’s public services are, the more likely people are to stay in the country and look for a better future for themselves and for their families. However, this does not mean that investing in sports should not be given peripheral attention. Sports value can never be measured in monetary terms but is directly linked to the pride of the nation. For example, government funding for sports will aid in the development of better training facilities where athletes can maximize their skills. The best athletes would ultimately represents their country and may bring pride to the nation. In addition, government funds might be utilized to undertake excessive promotional campaign to encourage skilled young children to join sports academies to help them enhance and improve their health and fitness. To conclude, the allocation of public funds to public services should be priorities since it has a direct impact on people’s quality of life. Spending on sports must be considered owning to its national relevance and country’s welfare.