Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. No less than 250 words.

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the purpose that university education serves. However, whether they should mainly provide job-related skills or pure knowledge to graduates has caused a heated debate. My view is that practical skills should be the main focus of universities. Firstly, it is obvious that for most students, the purpose of receiving university education is to obtain specific knowledge and skills, which will enable them to become qualified employees in the future job market. This is because after graduation, most of them will enter workplace, earn their living, and raise their own families. So universities, as service providers, have to give top priority to their customers' real needs. Moreover, focusing on the job-related skills can benefit the university itself. For example, the science fiction Hocketer "Avatar" has marked a milestone in the filmmaking industry and sparked massive interest in 3D technology. If a university can quickly respond, and consolidate teaching resources to offer courses regarding SD, not only will is graduates be more competitive in the near future, but the university itself wil keep pace with the moder technological development and move forward. That is not to say that universities should not pay any attention to pure scientific research. There are, of course, students interested in theoretical knowledge such as math and philosophy, and they will later become scientists and scholars who will make greater contributions to our society. But unfortunately, these people are few and far between. In summary, the major function of universities should be providing students job-related skills, guaranteeing high rate of employment, and thus helping the society function better. Meanwhile, we should not ignore the other important roles universities are undertaking. Only by doing so can universities maintain dynamic and sustainable development.