With the increase of digital media available online the role of the library has become obsolete University should provide digital material rather than textbooks Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of view

Due to the advancement of technology, there are vast collections of material available on online platforms as in public libraries, no doubt there are several benefits of having social libraries such as these are easily accessible and have more variety than printed books. However, it also has a major impact on individuals' health. In this essay, i will discuss both pros and cons and present my opinion of digital media as compared to paper-based libraries. There are several advantages of using online material, first and foremost is that information over digital media can be assessed just by few clicks. For instance, a survey held by the United States of America shows that students prefer digital libraries in Universities instead of physical ones the main reason is if they have to search a specific topic they can find it by typing its abstract and the whole information will be available in few seconds. Also, digital libraries can be used anywhere at home, schools, workplaces and cafes with access to Internet. On the other side, the major con of these digital information platforms is the adverse impact on health. This is due to the excessive use of laptop screens which have direct side-effect on the eyes. To exemplify, a study was conducted in a state of Australia which shows that the average screen time of post-graduating students is 7 to 8 hours per day as they intend to spend more than 5 hours studying on the internet as a result 6 out of 10 students wear prescription glasses. Thus, the aforementioned discussion justifiys justify my statement. To conclude, i believe, although, there are major benefits of digital media as it has a vast collection of searches and is effortless while having some negative effects. Even though, in my opinion, the advantages of digital libraries outweigh their negative effects.