New Technologies change the way children spend their free time. Do the advantages of these changes outweigh the disadvantages?

A widely heated debate regarding whether the merits of new technologies occupying children's leisure time outweigh the demerits has received accumulating attention from the public. As for my perspective, I am in favor of this statement and the reasons will be elaborated on thoroughly as follows. An array of causes may lead to why technology brings negative impacts for the youngsters. To begin with, the 3C products will absolutely damage their eyesight if children spent to much time on smartphone, computer, laptop and so on. Take my cousin as an example. She is only 10 years old and need to wear glasses in her daily life because she had been scrolling her smartphone time to time in the recent years. Moreover, children are easy to be addicted to online games; consequently, they will waste time on it and ignore their tasks. That is, children have more willing to using new technologies rather than playing basketball or exercising in their free time. On the contrary, as far as I am concerned, the pros of the youngsters using electronic devices in their leisure time totally overwhelm the cons. Firstly, children can soak up the newest knowledge in the websites and the social media, which means they update their informations faster and gain wider fields of knowledges. Secondly, with the rapid development of technology, the youngsters have a chance to explore their interests via the new technologies. To be more specific, a teenager might find his interest due to the fact that he spend time learning new techniques in the internet, then he can choose the related major which is rely on his interest. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, the benefits of children spending time on technology products may overwhelm the drawbacks because they can obtain the latest information and find their ambition.