Many people argue that in order to improve educational quality, high school students should be encouraged to question and offer criticism on their teachers. Others think this will lead to a loss of respect and discipline in the classroom. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Some people debate that if high school students are encouraged to ask questions or critique their teachers, the quality of education will improve. Others say that this may breed disrespect and indiscipline in the classroom. Seeking clarification promotes better understanding hence quality education if at all done the appropriate way. However, if teachers are critiqued by their students or asked questions in an impolite manner, then this may be considered as lack of discipline and disrespectful. To begin with, lack of a polite language when opposing a matter or asking a question can be deemed as a bad behaviour moreso in a classroom setting. Since all students are just like any other human being, they cannot agree to everything thrown at them. If a learner fails to use courteous word like "excuse me sir.." while interrupting, then the tutor will automatically label this as an unacceptable behavior. For instance, if a student adamantly critiques a teacher's statement without giving room for a constructive debate, eventually, this affects the value of the content. On the other hand, the only way for a concept to be effectively understood is through evaluation. If a learner, for example, doesn't understand the process of electricity production in Physics, they are obliged to ask a question to gain understanding. Moreover, if they disagree with the teachings it's their right to raise a concern so that further elaboration can be done. This not only demonstrates that learners are keen in class but also depicts that they have a skill of critical thinking and their brains are well engaged. All the positive impact is brought about by courteously posing their questions and how they present their criticism. In conclusion, while some believe that asking questions or providing criticism in the classroom is disrespectful and lack of discipline, I believe constructive criticism and polite seeking of clarification positively impacts education.