Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the 21st century, the use of plastic is a major concern all around the world, as people know that using these things, which are made out of plastic, such as bags, bottles, and all other plastic packaging which is very harmful for the environment and causes lots of damage to the environment. However, I will explain in a further paragraph what damage it does to the environment and what steps the government or people can take to prevent this problem. First and foremost, plastic is very harmful to the ecosystem, as plastic is non-biodegradable, so it takes hundreds of years to break down. As a result, plastic waste is often gathered in landfills, oceans, and natural landscapes and polluting the environment and wildlife. For example, many marine animals, such as turtles and seabirds, often mistake plastic for food, which leads to injury or death. Secondly, the production of plastic contributes to environmental degradation because it involves the use of fossil fuels such as oil and natural gas. As a result, it releases greenhouse gases into the environment and worsens climate change. However, the government and individuals play an important role in solving this problem. Firstly, the government has to implement the rule that bans single- use plastic and has to give a fine to people or manufacturing companies who make this type of product. Secondly, the government has to run a campaign where it encourages people they use alternatives such as recycling bags or biodegradable products. In addition, individuals have to take responsibility to save the environment. For instance, people have to use reusable bags and containers, which are not harmful to the ecosystem. Lastly, Individuals have to support the businesses that promote sustainable packaging. In conclusion, plastic is a major environmental threat, harming wildlife, polluting ecosystems, and leading to climate change. Both the government and individuals must have to take action to reduce the use of plastic and have to implement best practices to solve this issue.